My commute in pictures

January 16, 2007

Inspired by Treadly and Me, this is my 15km ride in to work. It usually takes me around 45 minutes.

Ellison Road
Ellison Road
The start of my run in from Streatham to Soho.

London’s shortest cycle path
London's shortest cycle path
This is at the end of my road and I can’t resist a wry smile every time I go past.

Crossing Greyhound Lane
Crossing Greyhound Lane
This is the most unpredictable part of my route as it is always busy and although traffic lights have been installed, they aren’t active yet.

Estreham Road
Estreham Road
Normally quiet once you get past Streatham Common station.

Railway tunnel
Railway tunnel
This links Estreham Road to Potter’s Lane.

Conyer’s Road
Conyer's Road
The continuation of Potter’s Lane past the historic water pumping station.

Crossing Mitcham Lane
Crossing Mitcham Lane
Can be busy. You’re crossing into Riggindale Road which is one way (against you) for cars.

Riggindale Road
Riggindale Road
Usually this quiet.

Bedford Hill
Bedford Hill
Runs through Tooting Beck Common towards Balham.

Balham
Balham
Traffic starts to build up as you approach Balham.

Clapham South
Clapham South
Quite a busy intersection at the southern tip of Clapham Common.

Clapham High Street
Clapham High Street
Cycling in bus lanes is great until a bus comes along.

Stockwell
Stockwell
Bit of a choke point for cyclists before they split up for routes into the City and West End. Notice all the cycle racks on the left outside Stockwell station.

Vauxhall
Vauxhall
Clubbers still coming out of Fire at 8am on a Tuesday morning.

Vauxhall Tunnel
Vauxhall Tunnel
A nice short cut through the bus station that avoids the crazy traffic at this notorious black spot for cyclists.
[Please excuse the poor quality]

Albert Embankment
Albert Embankment
First view of the Thames and Big Ben.

Lambeth Bridge
Lambeth Bridge
Tiny cycle lane that often gets ignored by trucks and taxis.

Tufton Street
Tufton Street
A quick , almost traffic free run behind Westminster Magistrates’ Court. It was swarming with armed police when the people charged with plotting to blow up US-bound airliners were brought to court last year. It’s often full of prison vans waiting near the loading bay at the rear of the court.

Great Smith Street
Great Smith Street
Usually quiet despite leading to Westminster Abbey.

Broad Sanctuary
Broad Sanctuary
Suddenly you pop out into a bit of space and see Westminster Abbey in front of you, Big Ben a bit further on and the London Eye in the distance.

Little George Street
Little George Street
A short cobbled section past the Methodist General Hall Conference Center (and cafe).

Horse Guards Road
Horse Guards Road
Runs along the eastern edge of St James Park past the memorial to the Bali bombing victims and the rear entrance to Downing Street. You regularly get delayed here as motorcades with outriders sweep in or out. Also, this must be one of the darkest streets in Central London at night. Maybe they dim the street lights due to the security cameras.

The Mall
The Mall
A nice wide stretch of road running down to Buckingham Palace.

Crossing into St James’ Street
Crossing into St James' Street
This can be busy as its funneling a lot of traffic from Pall Mall out of the West End onto Piccadilly towards the A4 and west London.

Crossing Piccadilly
Crossing Piccadilly
From St James’ Street into Albemarle Street (past the notorious Albemarle Club).

New Bond Street
New Bond Street
Past Cartier, Chanel, Tiffany, Ralph Lauren and the like.

Burlington Gardens
Burlington Gardens
Where drivers like to cut in front of you at the last minute.

Crossing Regent Street
Crossing Regent Street
Notice one of our 18 metre long bendy-busses speeding up towards Oxford Circus.

Golden Square
Golden Square
My home away from home at work in Soho.

10 Responses to “My commute in pictures”

  1. karlmccracken Says:

    Hi Adrian –
    Really like this – it’d make a great slide show / screen saver thing. How did you take the photos – camera in hand (some of that traffic looks a bit alarming for that), on the helmet, or mounted on the bike?
    Karl.

  2. zappoman Says:

    This is REALLY COOL! I am going to make one of my commute too. Well, it was my commute. Now my commute is just walking downstairs to my basement office. But… I like the idea of documenting my favorite routes.

  3. Adrian Fitch Says:

    Thanks Karl and Zappoman. I took them all by hand, hence the lack of clarity in some due to the low light (sunrise was officially at 8am) and most were taken while I was stopped. I’m not too gung ho in heavy traffic and prefer both hands close to the brakes.


  4. Nice work Adrian. I really enjoyed that—but not nearly as much as you must enjoy riding it every day!

    I particularly like the bus shot in Clapham High Street. And it must be hard to ride in bike lanes that come so narrow and short!

  5. kimbofo Says:

    Brilliant! I’m inspired to do this too, but I’ve already told Treadly and Me that it was too dark to use my camera when I cycle!! I’m also intrigued how you took the pics — did you have the camera around your neck and then take them when you were stopped?

    PS> I go down Horse Guards Parade every morning, but come from the other direction. I bet we actually pass one another!!

  6. matt Says:

    Nice pics. Although I will point out that the clubbers are going *in* to Fire at 8 on a Tuesday morning! It runs until lunch time!

  7. Jeremy Riggs Says:

    Loved the post – must try to do this at some point. I have recently bought a helmetcam (http://jeremyriggs.com/blog/?p=157) which is attached to my handlebars – maybe I could just use some framegrabs off of that as I don’t really fancy stopping every couple of hundred yards to take a picture.

    Great Blog!

  8. m Says:

    thanks for this great post! i’m a keen (local) cyclist living in Shepherd’s Bush. I go all the time to the West End and Southbank as well as visiting friends all over town.

    i never heard about helmetcam ’til reading the previous comment…will look into it, too.

    i found your blog via the WORDPRESS randomizer, cheers! will check in again in future…


  9. […] my god—I’ve inspired Adrian Fitch in […]

  10. alex Says:

    as a cyclist there’s something intriguing about seeing other peoples commutes, great site!

    wish i had done this when i lived in london so i could remember everything on my route. I used to cycle down edgeware rd and through Hyde park, Kens High St to Hammersmith.

    Now i commute in Melbourne, will have to get a little camera (or new ipod with video?)

    cheers


Leave a Reply

