So far this month I’ve virtually ridden to Bonn

September 14, 2007

(cc) daniel zimmel

Since September 1st I’ve pedalled 512 kilometers (318 miles) which is exactly how far Bonn is from London.

It might be interesting to see where I can virtually get to from Bonn by the end of the month.

3 Responses to “So far this month I’ve virtually ridden to Bonn”

  1. kimbofo Says:

    That’s a brilliant idea to track your riding that way. Perhaps you could see how long it takes to ride around the world!!

    I’ve been pretty slack with my commuting — last month I would have been lucky to have wracked up enough miles to get out of the M25!!

  2. Adrian Fitch Says:

    Thanks kimbofo. I got the idea to do it myself when I read about pupils and staff in seven Lancaster and Morecambe schools following Alastair Humphreys’ route around the world by accruing miles each time they cycle to school and then plotting it on a round-the-world route map.

    It took Alastair four years and three months to cover the 46,000 miles of his route so this is going to be a long term project.


  3. Yeah, a great idea. But you have an inherent advantage being in Europe–512km from Melbourne would get me to Mildura. A nice place to be sure, but hardly as exotic.


Leave a Reply

