Hitting my 2007 distance goal three months early

October 2, 2007

On Saturday afternoon, while grinding my way up the hill to Crystal Palace, I reached my 2007 distance goal.

In January I set myself the challenge of cycling at least 8,000 kilometres (4,971 miles) this year which I knew was perfectly achievable as long as I maintained a consistent approach.

My daily commute is around 28 kilometres (17 miles) so all I needed was a few longer weekend rides and I would be able to keep my monthly total to at least 667 kilometres (414 miles).

It started well and I was on track until I bought a road bike in March.

My accumulated cycling kilometres

I was immediately bitten by the road bug and started including a circuit of Richmond Park in my Tuesday and Thursday commutes, both on the way in to work and then on the way home too when I was up to it.

Saturday mornings were soon spent in the North Downs or Surrey Hills as I got fitter, lost weight and really enjoyed myself.

I entered a handful of organised events for a bit of a challenge and loved them.

This weekend is my last event of the year so we’re off to New York the weekend after and then I’m going to relax and get back to social cycling and exploring London and the South East.

Just this weekend when I was on my last training ride I went past Chartwell, Winston Churchill’s home.

It looks stunning but as I don’t weigh myself down with a lock I couldn’t stop and go in.

(cc) ramson

Also, I didn’t have any regular clothes and felt it was a little unfair to subject the public to me wondering around in sweaty racing gear.

So, time to slow down, look around a bit more and make the most of the few good weekends were likely to have before next spring.

Good luck to you in achieving the goals you are aiming for this year.

4 Responses to “Hitting my 2007 distance goal three months early”


  1. Adrian – brilliant result . . . what do you think you’ll make for the overall distance this year?

  2. Adrian Fitch Says:

    Thanks Karl. I’m likely to get to 9,450. It would be great to hit 10,000 but I’m going to save that for next year.

  3. kimbofo Says:

    Wow! That’s impressive. I think my total for the year so far is about 1,000km. I’ve been really slack this year — only riding two times a week — and haven’t gone on a weekend ride since Easter. This is despite the fact I bought a new bike in March and love it!

    I’m off to New York the weekend after next as well. I’m actually doing a one-day bike tour of Manhattan and really looking forward to it. No doubt I’ll post about it on my blog at some point…

  4. Adrian Fitch Says:

    Thanks Kim, it has been fun. Can’t wait for New York and I’m sure your bike tour will be great as long as the weather is good. I’m busy compiling a list of must-sees. Looking forward to your photos…


Leave a Reply

