The truth about cycling in the rain

January 11, 2008

Photo by Eli Long. Used under license.It’s actually never as bad as it looks from inside your warm, dry home.

There is nothing that tempts me to catch the train to work more than a howling wind lashing rain against the windows of our conservatory as I’m having my morning coffee.

However, once I’m out there, it’s always a surprise as to how the expectation doesn’t match the reality.

The rain is never as hard and the wind is never as ferocious as they seemed when I was sipping on my morning brew.

The key of course is to also dress well.

I think it’s the Scandinavians who say something like there’s no such thing as bad weather, just bad clothing.

Once you’re layered up with a good dryshell on the outside then everything seems so much more pleasant.

Photo by Eli Long. Used under license.

2 Responses to “The truth about cycling in the rain”

  1. Rach Says:

    You make a very good point. I’m afraid I’m still using the tube at the moment, my wet weather route to work is really unappealling. It includes a road which badly needs resurfacing – the thought of it has put me off on several mornings. But having said that I need to get off my arse and get out there!

  2. disgruntled Says:

    It’s the rain drumming on my bathroom roof that fills me with dread. But as the alternative is walking, I figure I get just as wet either way. The worst part is taking your wet cycling kit out of your bag and having to put it on for the ride home…


Leave a Reply

