Paris-Roubaix prep started this week

November 11, 2009

The next running of this bi-annual sportive monument is on Sunday June 6th.

Ideally I’d like to ride the full 260 km (160 miles) so I’ve arranged for accommodation near the start in Compiegne and also near the finish in Roubaix. Transport should be fairly straightforward thanks to the Eurostar plus I understand there’s a shuttle service to get your bags from the start to the finish. If not, I’ll extend my booking in Roubaix back a night and get one of the early morning buses to the start.

Registration info is due early November on the Velo Club of Roubaix’s site but no details posted yet.

Before Paris-Roubaix, there is of course the not insignificant Tour of Flanders in April. I’m also planning to ride the full distance there. To help prepare for these I’m treating myself to a week in the Sierra Nevada mountains, southern Spain in late February. In theory, the training week together with a winter indoor trainer program and regular weekend club rides should be perfectly adequate prep. Let’s see…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

